Hi! I'm Deanna! I'm a teacher, and I'm excited to learn. :-)

Hello! I am a computer science teacher whose passion is increasing the number of girls in CS! I am super excited to be using Jewelbots with my students in my computer science classes. Thank you for making such a great wearable!

I learned about the Jewelbots from Jennifer and Muriel of KCWIT Coding and Cupcakes, and I am now a volunteer at their Coding and Cupcakes KCWIT events, as of one event ago :grinning:

When Muriel asked me to volunteer, I bought a pack of Jewelbots for my high school girls in my CS Principles classes. I am thrilled to report that my HS girls are super excited about them and are all in!

The first week, which was this past week, the girls have been working on installing the Arduino IDE on our systems. My school district is 1-1 with Chromebooks, so we would love to be be able to use the Arduino Web Editor if possible in the future, provided the plug in can be dowloaded on the Chromebooks. We would have to try it to check maybe. The girls searched for the Jewelbots board in the Arduino Web Editor, and were not able to find it yet, so we are curious if that might be an option that is being developed.

Our student desktop PCs have Windows 7 OS, and fortunately the school district is updating to Windows 10 within the next few months, at which time I requesting they will allow the installation of the Arduino IDE for Windows 8 and 10 on the school desktop PCs.

In the meantime, the girls were hoping to use an Arduino IDE on the Raspberry Pis to code the Jewelbots. The girls soon realized that that Raspberry Pis required the Arduino IDE for Linux ARM, which, when adjusting the preferences, didn’t appear to have the option of adding the additional boards manager, stopping them from performing step 6-10 on the code set-up directions.